Captain Ben Mee and James Tarkowski depart as Burnley announce retained list

Captain Ben Mee and James Tarkowski will depart Burnley as the club confirms its list of retained players at the end of the 2021/22 season.

Mee, Aaron Lennon, Phil Bardsley, Dale Stephens and Erik Pieters are among a total of 14 professionals to leave upon the conclusion of their contracts at Turf Moor at the end of this month, alongside Under 23 players Joel Mumbongo, Richard Nartey, Anthony Glennon, Ethen Vaughan, Sam Unwin, Anthony Gomez Mancini, Calen Gallagher-Allison and Harry Allen.

Tarkowski is also set to join Everton after he expressed his desire earlier in the season to seek an opportunity elsewhere when his contract expires, after making more than 200 appearances for the club.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Mee played more than 350 times for the Clarets over an 11-year period.

LONDON, ENGLAND - FEBRUARY 26: Ben Mee of Burnley in action during the Premier League match between Crystal Palace and Burnley at Selhurst Park on February 26, 2022 in London, England. (Photo by Tom Dulat/Getty Images)

Winger Lennon re-joined the Clarets last August and made 31 appearances last season across all competitions, and 87 appearances in total over his two spells in East Lancashire.

Full-back Bardsley joined the club from Stoke City in the summer of 2017 and went on to make 70 appearances for Burnley and has been an influential popular member of the dressing room throughout his time at Turf Moor.

Like Bardsley, Pieters arrived from Stoke in July 2018 and appeared 65 times for the Clarets.

Stephens joined from Brighton in September 2020, but a number of injuries restricted the Bolton-born midfielder to just four Premier League starts.

Discussions remain ongoing with Matej Vydra and Jack Cork, meanwhile the option on Ashley Barnes’ contract has been activated to keep the forward at the club for a further season.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In the Under 23 group, contracts have been offered to Finn Armstrong, Dara Costelloe, Rob Harker, Joe McGlynn, Jake Rooney and Ben Woods, whilst the options of a further year have been activated on Ne-Jai Tucker and Max Thompson’s contracts.

The following Under 18s have seen their scholarships extended for a third season; Benn Ward, Sam Waller, Dan Sassi, Keelan Williams, Dane McCullough, Jacson Coppack, Will Hugill, Kade Ratchford and Jacob Hamilton.

Meanwhile, the following scholars will leave the club on the expiry of their agreements; Ruiari Behan, Will Couch, Sean Etaluku, Jack Leckie, Joe Smyth-Ferguson and George Walters.

The club would like to thank all departing players for their efforts during their time at Turf Moor and wish them well for the future.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The following players are in contract with the club for the 2022/23 season: Nick Pope, Wayne Hennessey, Bailey Peacock-Farrell, Will Norris, Sam Waller, Matt Lowton, Connor Roberts, Nathan Collins, Kevin Long, Bobby Thomas, Jacob Bedeau, Charlie Taylor, Owen Dodgson, Mark Helm, Adam Phillips, Josh Brownhill, Ashley Westwood, Johann Berg Gudmundsson, Dwight McNeil, Maxwel Cornet, Lewis Richardson, Michael Mellon, Jay Rodriguez and Wout Weghorst.