In-form Tim wins again at Clitheroe

Clitheroe’s Tim Stanley followed up his Captain’s Day triumph with another great round of 75-5-70 to win the James Braid Open Singles Championship.

By The Newsroom
Sunday, 20th July 2014, 5:00 pm
Michelle Fielding, winner of the Presidents Day for Ladies competition at Clitheroe, with President Peter Clayton.
Michelle Fielding, winner of the Presidents Day for Ladies competition at Clitheroe, with President Peter Clayton.

Stanley added to his Cabinet with the Holgate Nett Trophy.

Swamy Narayana came top of a quartet on 71 in second place, with Stuart Bliss third.

Tony Holt won the Southworth Scratch Trophy with gross 73 - a two-shot margin over John Ellwood.

Sign up to our daily Burnley Express Today newsletter

Green Haworth’s Clive Robertson was third (76-1-75).

Steve Clash and Mark Pickup won Sunday’s fourball with 43 points, two better than Gary Speak and Mike Tattersall. Steve Dean and Julian Troup were third with 40.

Michelle Fielding’s 79-11-68 won the President’s Day for Ladies’ 18-Hole Medal from Janet Bailey, who had the same nett 68. Nancy Mortimer was third with her nett 71.

The President’s Prize for the Ladies’ 9-Hole Stableford was won by Gill Wightman ahead of Eileen Lambert.

The Mixed Invitation was won by Val Fairless and guest Graham Monk after countback, with Chris Vines and Joyce Aikman were second on the same score, pushing push captain Simon Raine and Birgitia Billstrom into third with 39 points.

Gary Moores made it five holes in one when his sweetly struck seven iron found the hole on the 17th last week.

Dave Griffith won Mytton Fold Golf Club’s Cavalier Putter Competition by a whisker, beating Handicap and Competition Chairman John Berry on a card playoff.

Both carded nett 69s but Dave’s back-9 just shaded it.

Darryl Mankowski was third after cards, one shot in arrears.

The Ladies’ July Medal was won by Tarja Wilson’s nett 68 from Jean Havard (71), with Lady Captain Carole Maher third (73) on the card from Linda Clegg.

Carole Maher and Tarja Wilson also won the PING Fourball Betterball club qualifying round with 44 points.

The Juniors’ Brio Trophy saw defending champions, Ciaran Halsall and Club Captain Peter Main just beat Sam Barden and John Berry, into second. Jack Leaver was third alongside grandad Denis, Mytton Fold Greens Chairman.

Malcolm Salmon had the catch of the day on Saturday at Whalley.

Salmon came in with 41 points beating Lincoln on a card play-off to get his name on the Leslie Haynes trophy and board.

Division One winner was K. Moore (39 points), and Division Two and overall winner was Salmon.

The captain’s prize for ladies went to Eleanor Inglis (88-16-72) from Emy Eceret-Burgess (94-21-73) and Carolyn Platt (104-28-76).

Best gross was Linsey Kent’s 91.