FA will not punish Barnes after Chelsea match
The Football Association have confirmed Burnley striker Ashley Barnes will not be punished retrospectively after Saturday’s 1-1 draw at Chelsea.
Barnes was singled out by Blues boss Jose Mourinho after incidents involving Branislav Ivanovic and, in particular, Nemanja Matic - who was dismissed after his reaction to being caught in the shin by the Clarets frontman.
Barnes played a pass and, with Matic coming in from the side, caught the Serbian with his follow through - an unfortunate accident.
Matic leapt to his feet and violently shoved Barnes to the ground, with Chelsea considering an appeal.
A statement from the FA said: “In the vast majority of challenges for the ball, no retrospective action is taken as the incident has been seen by the match officials.
Fan gallery as Burnley supporters make their way to Turf Moor for the game versus Stoke City
Exclusive: Burnley's Josh Brownhill addresses this summer's transfer speculation after Wolves, Southampton, Leeds United, West Ham United, Leicester City and Everton showed an interest
Burnley predicted XI photo gallery for Championship clash against Stoke City at Turf Moor
“Retrospective action was introduced as a deterrent for ‘off the ball incidents’ [e.g. kicks, stamps etc.] committed out of sight of officials.
“The whole game is in agreement that, in the vast majority of cases, match officials are best-placed to deal with incidents to avoid re-refereeing.
“In line with this rationale, the FA confirm no further action in relation to Ashley Barnes as the incident was seen by the officials.”