Burnley unveil new strip in tribute to club’s first League Championship winners

Burnley have unveiled their new 2020/21 home strip - marking a century since the club’
The new Burnley home shirtThe new Burnley home shirt
The new Burnley home shirt

Burnley won the first of two League Championship titles in 1920/21, with John Haworth at the helm, as the side went a then-Football League record 30 games unbeaten - which stood until the Millennium.

The team is remembered for the famed halfback line of George Halley, captain Tommy Boyle and Billy Watson, top goalscorer Joe Anderson and the legendary Bert Freeman, among others listed, who became household names in their unrelenting charge towards the first of the two English championship trophies won by the club in its long and proud history as one of football’s founder members.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

A century on from this historic milestone, the club said in a release: “We couldn’t be more proud to commemorate these 100 year heroes.

“Developed by Umbro, the new home kit uses the classic design from 100 years ago as its influence, with the blue collar prominent in a stylised ‘cut’ neckline that adds a modern twist.

“The traditional blue sleeves are also a distinguished feature, as they sit lower on the arm.

“The ‘Legs, Hearts, Minds’ tri-colour stripe, which has been adopted as a mantra in the Sean Dyche era, add another modern touch to the back neckline, along with the official licensed label to the side seam.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

”The shirt is complemented by white shorts with claret contrast side tipping, and claret socks with blue contrast cuff and BFC wording.”

The 2020/2021 ‘100 year heroes’ kit will initially be for sale via pre-order on Monday, August 17th at shop.burnleyfc.com, followed by an instore launch on Saturday, September 5th, a week before the new Premier League season gets underway.

The 100 Year Heroes - Manager: John Haworth; Squad: Tommy Boyle (Captain), Joe Anderson, Alf Basnett, Frank Birchenough, Tom Brophy, Benny Cross, Jerry Dawson, George Douglas, Bert Freeman, George Halley, Cliff Jones, Bob Kelly, Jack Lane, James Lindsay, Bob McGrory, Len Moorwood, Eddie Mosscrop, Billy Nesbitt, Len Smelt, David Taylor, Bill Taylor, Billy Watson, Walter Weaver.

Related topics: