Burnley striker Jay Rodriguez in PFA Team of the season

TOP-SCORER Jay Rodriguez has been honoured by his fellow professionals by being named in the PFA Championship team of the season.

Monday, 23rd April 2012, 11:00 am

The 22-year-old, who hit 21 goals this season before a groin injury curtailed his campaign, was voted into the divisional select side at the annual PFA awards at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Sunday night.

Three Southampton stars made the team - keeper Kelvin Davis, midfielder Adam Lallana and striker Ricky Lambert, the Championship’s top-scorer with 27 goals.

The team is:

Sign up to our daily Burnley Express Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Davis (Southampton), Clyne (Crystal Palace), Tomkins (West Ham), Davies (Birmingham), Harte (Reading), Lallana (Southampton), Whittingham (Cardiff), Noble (West Ham), Phillips (Blackpool), Lambert (Southampton), Rodriguez (Burnley)

Rodriguez is the first Burnley player to be named in the PFA team of the seadson at any level since 1999/2000 when the club won promotion as runners-up in the old Second Division.

That year, skipper Steve Davis and Glen Little were named.

No Burnley player has ever been named in the side in the second tier of English football, with only Leighton James topping his achievement, after he was named in the old First Division team in 1974/75.

Former Burnley players named in PFA teams of the year are as follows:

1974/75 - Leighton James

1981/82 - Martin Dobson

1983/84 - Brian Flynn and Billy Hamilton

1985/86 - Kevin Hird

1990/91 - Steven Davis

1991/92 - Stephen Davis

1992/93 - Marlon Beresford

1993/94 - Marlon Beresford

1995/96 - Kurt Nogan

1996/97 - Gary Parkinson and David Eyres

1998/99 - Stephen Davis

1990/2000 - Stephen Davis and Glen Little

For Rodriguez, it comes on the back of more awards.

In November, he was named as the Championship player of the year for 2010/11 at the North West Football Awards after a season in which he hit 15 goals and made his England Under 21 debut.

And last month he finished fourth in a poll for the npower Championship Player of the Year, behind Lambert, Cardiff’s former Burnley loan man Peter Whittingham and Lallana.