Young Ribble Valley cricketers rewarded!

Lancashire cricketer Tom Bailey was on hand to dish out awards as the Ribble Valley’s young stars were recognised and rewarded for a successful 2015 term.

Sunday, 13th December 2015, 11:00 am
Tom Bailey presenting the U13 Bowling Award to Daniel Wilson

With 17 Ribble Valley cricketers playing for Lancashire, and the Under 15 side winning the Ainsworth Trophy to become county champions, it has been a year of achievement for the District.

The Players of the Year were from Salesbury CC (Adam Wharton at Under 11), Ribblesdale Wanderers CC (Josh Stamford at Under 13), Clitheroe CC (Charlie Dewhurst at Under 15) and Ribble Valley Ladies (Hannah Mansell) while Read CC, Longridge CC and Chatburn CC were also well represented.

Salesbury CofE Primary School were the winners of the inaugural District Cricket Primary School of the Year Award for performances in both mixed and girls Kwik Cricket competitions as well as winning the Malcolm Blackburn Trophy.

Sign up to our daily Burnley Express Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ladies awards - Batter of the year: Nicki Wilcox; Bowler of the year: Martha Smith; Fielder of the year: Hannah Mansell; Player of the year: Hannah Mansell.

Under 11s awards - Batter of the year:Adam Wharton; Bowler of the year: Oliver Rawson; Fielder of the year: Charlie Atkinson; Player of the year: Adam Wharton.

Under 13s awards - Five wicket haul: Josh Stamford; Batter of the year: Reece Rhodes; Bowler of the year: Daniel Wilson; Fielder of the year: Alfie Worthy; Player of the year: Josh Stamford.

Under 15s awards - 100 runs in a match: Charlie Dewhurst, Callum Spinks Baines; Five wicket haul: Charlie Dewhurst, Harry Lang, Joe Noone, Eli Smith; Batter of the year: Charlie Dewhurst; Bowler of the year: Joe Noone; Fielder of the year: Will Wrathall; Player of the year: Charlie Dewhurst.

Lancashire players - Under 11s: Charlie Atkinson (Clitheroe CC), Oliver Rawson (Salesbury CC). Under 13s: Josh Stamford (Ribblesdale Wanderers CC). Under 14s: Sam Mulligan (Clitheroe CC). Under 15s: Callum Birtwell Jones (Clitheroe CC), Charlie Dewhurst (Clitheroe CC), Joe Noone (Read CC).

Under 13s girls: Rose Marquet (Read CC), Libby Masheter (Read CC), Sophia Turner (Read CC); Under 15s girls: Charlotte Ashton (Clitheroe CC), Eve Whaling (Clitheroe CC). Under 17s ladies: Hannah Mansell (Ribble Valley), Polly Pearse (Ribble Valley and Salesbury CC).