Tripathi guides champions Burnley to big derby win

Burnley's  Vishal TripathiBurnley's  Vishal Tripathi
Burnley's Vishal Tripathi
Champions Burnley took derby bragging rights by knocking Lowerhouse off the top of the Fosters Lancashire League table with a seven-wicket win at the Brooks Foundation Ground.

Jhangir Liaqat took a career best 7-32 to help dismiss Lowerhouse for 166 on Sunday as Charlie Cottam top scored with an unbeaten 41 for the West Enders.

Coming in at number nine, Cottam added 10 with Chris Bleazard (0) and 45 with Lewis Marsden (10) for the last wicket.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Openers Jon Finch (20) and Joe Martin (11) had put on 36 before Liaqat dismissed them both.

Ben Heap also made 25 with Joe Hawke and Adam Hugill making 12 apiece as Lowerhouse were all out in 47.3 overs.

In reply, professional Dieter Klein sent back his opposite number Chris Holt (11) and David Brown (0) in successive balls at 24 but Dan Pickup (19) joined Vishal Tripathi to take the score to 87 before falling to Paddy 

Tripathi went on to hit a match-winning unbeaten 81 from 106 balls with eight fours and two sixes key to guiding his side home.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He added an unbroken 80 with Chris Burton (36 not out) for the fourth wicket with the win enabling Burnley to 
leapfrog Lowerhouse into second place.

Ramsbottom are the new leaders after an 131-run win at Bacup.

Prior to the derby both sides had warmed up with victorids in the Moorhouses Brewery 20/20 
Competition on Friday night, May 27.

In the Pride of Pendle Group holders Burnley had a four-wicket win at Haslingden.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Man of the match Gus Whitehead hit an unbeaten 39 after Burnley were reduced to 31-5 chasing Haslingden’s 

Jhangir Liaqat also hit an unbeaten 11 in a match winning-stand of 29 with Whitehead.

Professional Chris Holt had earlier taken 3-15 with skipper Alex Coleman and Matt Griffin hitting 14 apiece for the home side.

Man of the match Ben Heap hit an unbeaten 54, including eight fours, in Lowerhouse’s nine-wicket win at 

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Joe Hawke also hit an unbeaten 25 against 
Nelson’s eight-pronged bowling attack.

Paddy Martin had earlier taken 3-15 to restrict Nelson to 103-6. Lewis Bradley made 25, Toxy Hussain an unbeaten 16, skipper Neil Thompson 14 and Sam Halstead an unbeaten 

Related topics: