Ribblesdale Cricket League reshuffle agreed

The Ribblesdale Cricket League voted on a new make-up for the Senior Division at their AGM on Monday night.
Clitheroe CC champsClitheroe CC champs
Clitheroe CC champs

The proposal was that, for the 2014 season and subsequent years, the Senior League will be divided into two divisions, with promotion and relegation between Division A and B.

The top nine teams from the 2013 season - champions Clitheroe, Barnoldswick, Settle, Read, Oswaldtwistle Immanuel, Baxenden, Ribblesdale Wanderers, Whalley, Great Harwood - will make up Division A.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The bottom seven - Brooksbottom, Edenfield, Salesbury, Earby, Euxton, Cherry Tree and Padiham - will be joined by First Division champions Brinscall to make up Division B.

In the 2014 season, clubs in Division A will play each other twice, but will also play all teams from Division B once, and vice versa.

At the end of the 2014 season, and in subsequent years, there will be promotion and relegation between Division A and B, with the top two teams in Division B swapping places with the bottom two teams in Division A.

The bottom two teams in Division B will have to apply for re-election to the league as has been the norm.

That proposal won favour, rather than a geographical split, with the top four teams in each division, and winners of a fifth-place play-off, forming the new Division A.

Related topics: