Burnley Council Election 2023 RESULTS: Green Party unseats Mayor of Burnley Cosima Towneley after 16 years

There was shock as the Mayor of Burnley’s true blue seat turned Green in the 2023 borough council elections.
Watch more of our videos on Shots!
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Cosima Towneley, the town’s mayor, has lost her Cliviger seat after 16 years to Beki Hughes, of the Green Party.

Meanwhile, Labour kept a tight grasp of six seats, and gained two more.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Of the 15 seats up for grabs across Burnley and Padiham, the Conservatives, Lib Dems and Greens all won two each, and the Burnley and Padiham Independent Party took one.

Burnley Labour Party won eight seats in the Burnley Borough Council Elections 2023.Burnley Labour Party won eight seats in the Burnley Borough Council Elections 2023.
Burnley Labour Party won eight seats in the Burnley Borough Council Elections 2023.

Labour now has 21 councillors and does not have overall control, which requires 23 seats. Talks will need to be held over whether the Labour and Liberal Democrats coalition will continue.

Gains also came from the Conservatives, with Joanne Broughton receiving 738 votes to take the vacant seat in Hapton with Park.

Read More
Spotting the famous resident cat Larry was certainly a highlight of my trip to N...

The changes mean the council is now made up of 21 Labour councillors, followed by seven Conservatives, seven Lib Dems, seven Greens, and three Burnley and Padiham Independent Party members.

Coun. Afrasiab Anwar, leader of Burnley Labour Party.Coun. Afrasiab Anwar, leader of Burnley Labour Party.
Coun. Afrasiab Anwar, leader of Burnley Labour Party.
Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Here is the full list of results from this year's Burnley Borough Council elections (the winner is highlighted in bold):

Bank Hall

Sehrish Lone (Lab) – 927 votes, Julie Ann Hurt (Green) – 109, Susan Margaret Nutter (Con) – 130, and Khalil Pascall (Lib Dem) – 85.


Burnley Town Hall.Burnley Town Hall.
Burnley Town Hall.

Oliver James Sanderson (Green) – 50 votes, Richard Michael Piers Sagar (Con) – 219, Pete Coles (Lab) – 356, Anne Rosemarie Kelly (Lib Dem) – 614.


Mark Townsend (Lab) – 573 votes, Alex Hall (Green) – 514, Claire Elizabeth Ingham (Con) – 177.

Cliviger with Worsthorne

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Beki Hughes (Green) –799 votes, Peter Kenyon (Lab) – 151, Cosima Towneley (Con) – 760, John Benson Hill (Lib Dem) – 101.

Coalclough with Deerplay

Howard Baker (Lib Dem) – 563 votes, Mubashar Lone (Lab) – 274, Jackie Clarke (Con) – 245, Janet Renata Hall (Green) – 115.

Danehouse with Stoneyholme

Sarah Hall (Green) – 51 votes, Nussrat Kazmi (Lab) – 1137, Mohammed Haji-Nazrul (Lib Dem) – 244, Linda Kay Whittaker (Con) – 54.


Charlie Briggs (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party) – 486 votes, Jai Redman (Green) – 56, Gemma Haigh (Lab) – 371, Tom Watson (Con) – 94.


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

John Harbour (Lab) – 783 votes, Adam Jake Brierley (Con) – 335, Nigel Andrew Baldwin (Green) – 79.

Hapton with Park

Ashley Brown (Lab) – 481 votes, Anna Maria Hewitt (Green) – 121, Joanne Broughton (Con) – 738 votes.


Barbara Pauline Baldwin (Green) – 77 votes, Fiona Wild (Lab) – 655, Pippa Lishman (Lib Dem) – 217, Abdul Shahid (Con) – 348.


Fiona Kay Hornby (Green) – 87 votes, Mohammed Ishtiaq (Labour) – 939, Christine Mary Taylor (Lib Dem) – 163, Bailey Webster (Con) – 178.

Rosegrove with Lowerhouse

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Jane Curran (Green) – 61 votes, Paul Reynolds (Lab) – 523, Lorraine Mehanna (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party) – 338, Maison McGowan-Doe (Con) – 170, Kathryn Haworth (Lib Dem) – 72.

Rosehill with Burnley Wood

Margaret Brindle (Lab) – 480 votes, Kev Shackell (Con) – 168, Carol Anne Fredlund (Green) – 68, Russell Neal (Lib Dem) – 468, Catherine Patricia Anne Ramsay (Heritage) – 66.


Shoaib Hashmi (Lab) – 233 votes, Helen Joy Bridges (Green) – 552, Dale Joseph Ferrier (Con) – 78.

Whittlefield with Ightenhill

Shaun Sproule (Lab) – 248 votes, Lee James Ashworth (Con) – 648, Andrew Robert Newhouse (Green) – 490, Frank Bartram (Lib Dem) – 67, Mitchell James Cryer (Independent) – 92.