Boundary changes would see Burnley and Nelson share an MP

The next stage of a national review that could change the shape of Burnley's Parliamentary boundary has started.
Houses of ParliamentHouses of Parliament
Houses of Parliament

Last year people were invited to take part in a public consultation as part of the national review of Parliamentary areas – those which an MP represents rather than borough or other boundaries.

There were almost 20,000 responses to that consultation across the country. The next stage of the 2018 Review is the publication of all those representations so that others may comment on them.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Interested parties have until Monday, March 27th to comment. All representations will be published on the Boundary Commission website

In Lancashire it is proposed to reduce the number of constituencies by two, to 14.

In the borough of Burnley the proposal is to move Gawthorpe, Hapton with Park (covering Padiham) and Coalclough with Deerplay wards into what is now Hyndburn, but change the constituency name to Accrington.

The Burnley constituency would expand northwards, taking in eight wards currently in Pendle and stretching up to, and including, Brierfield and Nelson.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The changes would not affect the borough boundaries or representation on Burnley Council.

The Boundary Commission for England is considering constituency areas across England as part of a periodic review of the boundaries of all Parliamentary seats. The overall aim is to have constituencies that have between 71,031 and 78,507 people eligible to vote living in them.

The Boundary Commission is due to make its final report in September 2018. Any changes would come into effect at the next scheduled general election in 2020.