Green is Trophy winner

editorial image
Share this article

AT Burnley, it was fitting that the Centenary Trophy, played in excellent conditions, was won by a member of the groundstaff, Paul Green, with a magnificent 71-9-62 - which included a hole in one at the 11th.

In second position was captain Michael Bentley (77-14-63), who pipped Ian Williams(83-19-64) into third place.

The day had three excellent gross scores of 69 by Mark Ridgway, Michael Scott and Andrew Riley.

The Open Summer 4 Man Team event was won by home members the three Scotts - Tony, Michael and Ashley, alongside Matt Maguire, who scored 89 points.

Second with 88 were captain Bentley, Nigel Musker, Paul Green and Stuart Nunn.

The Walmsley Cup played over 36 holes on Saturday and Sunday, with the overall winner William Holmes, who recorded scores of 77 and 76 gross off a handicap of 10 to leave him one shot clear with a nett 133 from Dave Heyworth (134) followed by Patrick Sharpe (136).

The best gross on Saturday round was a 66 from Gary Blades, reducing him once again to scratch, and on Sunday Andrew Riley with a 69.

A midweek stableford was closely contested with five players recording 39 points, however, on card play-offs, Douglas Mackenzie won, followed by Stuart Nunn, with Jack Corteen in third.

• BRIAN Taylor was in magnificent form at Townley, carding a 70-8-62 to win the Moorehouse Trophy.

Runner-up was Nick Lancaster (73-10-63) from Martyn McEvoy (82-18-64).

Nearest the pin awards went to Hamish Miller (6th) and Dirk Payne (17th).

The midweek stableford on Tuesday was won by Alan Kelly on the card from Matt Harrison, both with 40 points.

Taylor also won the Thutsday event after cards with Mick Southern, both on 39 points.

Nelson’s Dean Pickard won the Rosebowl on Sunday with an excellent 63, ahead of Graham Lacey (66) and Damien Hartley (67).

The Municipal Cup winner was Gary Blades from Nelson with a gross 72. Runner-up, on the card, was Shaun Fields, with Neil Jackson third.

Nearest the pin were Jon Kodic (6th), Jackson (16th) and Keith Pickard and Rigby Lovatt at the 17th.

The Tuesday stableford winner was again Taylor, who won on the card from Drew Slater, both with 42 points.

Thursday went to Nick Western with 41 points, with Micl Horsfall runner-up a point behind.

Janet Thompson won the 15th Medal with a 104-28-76, three clear of Susan Miller (110-31-79), with Pat Robertshaw (106-26-80) third.