Golfer Ian wins trophy on 18th hole

Share this article

Ian Owens won the Derek Chadwick Trophy on the 18th hole at Burnley Golf Club.

The finalists played a 36-hole competition the previous Saturday, and the top eight then played match play on the Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday to reach a winner.

Owens, left, is pictured with President John Hall, who refereed the final, and runner-up Shaun Makin.

Still at Burnley, the Centenary Trophy saw Mark Atwell (74-11-63) win by three shots from Craig Smith (81-15-66), who was runner-up on the card from Tom Orrell (73-7-66).

Best gross scores went to Ian Whalley, Andy Perry and Anthony Keenan’s 71s.

In the ladies’ team competition, winners were ELGA Lady President Cath Briggs’ team, from Dawn Elliot’s team, with Margaret Pendlebury’s team third.

Burnley’s Andy Samuels helped Lancashire Seniors win the Northern Counties Seniors League with one game to play, after wins over Yorkshire, Northumberland, Cheshire and Cumbria.

Andrew Trickett was in tremendous form to win the Captain’s Prize at Towneley, beating Steve Wynne in an entertaining final.

Greg McLean claimed the Rabbits Prize by defeating David Horan.

Brian Taylor and Mick Wardrobe won the Towneley Chalice and Monthly Medal respectively, Wardrobe with his best-ever competition score of 76-16-63.

Jack Carruthers won Division One (77-11-66), Wardrobe Division Two and David Windle Division Three (89-22-67).