Burnley stalwart John wins award

editorial image

Burnley Rugby club were recently honoured when long-serving member John Lancaster received recognition at the County award ceremony for his efforts for the club.

John has been a member of the club for over 40 years, and over his many playing years he played in every position in the back line, and even had an occasional outing with the forwards.

When finally retiring as captain of the third XV, he continued to serve the club as a committee member.

John is involved in the match day organisation at the club, as well as being Kit manager, and more recently he has acted as relief steward and done the club accounts - involving many hours of unpaid work.

He has also been club president and county representative.

John is shown, right, receiving his award from Lancashire President Don Welsh (s).

Burnley’s junior section have now finished their season, and brought the curtain down with their awards night.

There was a full house in anticipation of the awards, with trophies for key players, medals for the mini teams and t-shirts for the juniors.

As a treat for the youngsters, the awards were presented by special guest Chris Leck of Sale Shark, who started his career at Burnley.

The roll of honour was: Tages: Player of the year - Nathan Hefford; Most improved player - Bram Richmond; Coaches’ player of the year- Brandon Sharpe.

Under 10s: Players’ player of the year - Mason Heys; Most improved player - Mason Heys; Coaches’ player of the year - Anya Richmond; Back of the year - Christopher Knowles; Forward of the year - Jon Mattox.

Under 11s: Players’ player of the year - Edward Handford; Most improved player - Zak Smith; Coaches’ player of the year - Harry Smales; Back of the year - Edward Handford; Forward of the year - Sam Matthews.

Under 13s: Players’ player of the year -Regan Kelly; Most improved player - George Hibbert; Back of the year - Jake Sanderson; Forward of the year- Marc Henderson.

Under 14s: Players’ player of the year - Matthew Fordley; Most improved player - Danny Hodgson; Back of the year - James Carter; Forward of the year - Henry Sanderson; Under 13s and 14s Coaches’ player of the year- Gareth Gregory.

Under 16s: Players’ player of the year - Joe Ellison; Most improved player - David Graham; Coaches’ player of the year- Lee Ferrier; Back of the year - Ash Nuttall; Forward of the year- Joe Ellison.

If anyone is interested in junior rugby, please ring Martin Evans on 07793823935.