Burnley sign off on a high

editorial image
Share this article

Burnley concluded their season in the unfamiliar surroundings of Colne’s Holt House ground, as work began on their pitch for next season.

However their was nothing strange about their performance.

Playing up the slope and having to contend with a narrower pitch than normal, they carried on as in previous weeks, attempting to play their thrilling running rugby.

Bolton proved much sterner opposition than some previous opponents, and dominated territorially for large spells with their large physical pack, which earlier in the season had dominated the home pack.

This game was very different.

Burnley competed well upfront, with a solid scrum and good lineout ball from Richard Murray and Adam Spencer, which allowed their backs to threaten whenever they got the ball.

Simon Finnan picked off a pass and fed to Tom Ives, who raced in from a distance for the first score.

A great Matt Crowley break, who then offloaded to the supporting Adam Healey, led to Burnley’s second try, converted by Dom Leck.

Burnley then withstood a lot of pressure, but excellent defence kept Bolton at bay as they went in 12-0 up at half-time.

Down the slope in the second half, with a strong wind, the odds were stacked in Burnley’s favour.

Great work from the forwards led to Richard Murray diving over, converted by Leck.

Danny Campbell made an immediate impact from the bench, scything through to score the bonus point try, and Leck added the kick.

Crowley then added another score with a fine break, which was converted.

Bolton had a good spell of pressure, but couldn’t breach Burnley’s excellent defence as players threw themselves into tackles.

Burnley then regained the ascendancy as Richard Murray grabbed his second, which Leck converted for a final score of 40-0.

This win took Burnley to fifth.

Tonight Burnley play the first of their two-match German tour, playing 1960 Hurth in Cologne before travelling to play Essen in the Ruhr Valley tomorrow.

The club’s AGM takes place at noon on Sunday, May 22nd, after which will be lunch and the annual awards ceremony.