Burnley’s A team remain unbeaten

editorial image
Share this article

BURNLEY Lawn Tennis Club’s A team kept their unbeaten record going in Open Division One after they beat Blackburn Northern B at home.

Iain Taylor and Daniel Taylor won both their rubbers with ease, 6-2, 6-1 and 6-1, 6-1.

Paul Barlow and Christopher Robin won and lost a rubber - they beat Blackburn Northern’s second pair, 7-5, 6-0 but lost to Northerns first pair, 4-6, 3-6.

In Open Division Two, Burnley B beat Burnley C 5-0.

David Whittaker and Paul Wheatcroft beat Michael Harris and Liam Taylor, 6-4, 6-2, and they followed that up by beating Alistair Baldock and David Hodgson, 6-1, 6-2.

Matthew Hargreaves and Steve Farmer beat Baldock and Hodgson 6-0, 6-2 and beat Harris and L. Taylor, 6-1, 6-3.

Burnley D lost 5-0 to Darwen A.

In Open Division Three, Burnley E beat Parkwood C 4-1 at home.

L. Taylor and Peter Curls won both their rubbers.

Their first rubber was a marathon, but they won it, 6-7, 6-4, 6-3, but their second rubber was more a straight forward affair, winning 6-3, 6-1.

The husband and wife pairing of Alun and Jo Heywood, had a mixed afternoon, winning and losing a rubber, they won their first 6-2, 6-3, but they lost a tight second rubber in three sets, 4-6, 6-1, 3-6.

Burnley F lost 5-0 to a very strong Feniscowles B.

In the Juniors’ Under 16s section, Burnley beat Darwen 5-1 away.

In the singles, Alex Townrow won 4-1, 4-1, Matthew Barlow lost 1-4, 1-4, James Denson won 4-0, 4-0, and James Wheatcroft won 4-2, 4-0.

In the doubles, Townrow and Barlow won 7-6, and Denson and Wheatcroft won 6-2.