Burnley Express cup won by Danny Taylor

Danny is pictured with league chairman David Sudall
Danny is pictured with league chairman David Sudall
Share this article

ACCRINGTON Tennis Club had the honour of hosting the Burnley and District Tennis Leagues Finals Day on Sunday.

The finals were, at one time, in danger of being abandoned due to the monsoon conditions early on, but after a bit of thumb-twiddling, the finals eventually got under way.

Burnley Lawn Tennis Club had a representative in all eight of the finals.

The Burnley Express Cup was won by Danny Taylor of Burnley, who beat Jamie Clayton of Accrington in an entertaining singles final, winning in straight sets, 6-2, 6-4.

The Clucas Cup men’s doubles final was a wonderful match between four very good players, won by the Pakwood pair, John Phethean and Matt Honey, beating Burnley’s Stephen Palmer & Chris Rowell in three excellent sets, 7-5, 2-6, 6-3.

Danny Taylor teamed up with Elaine.Varcoe to win the Harold Lever Trophy against a very game partnership in the shape of Christine Connor and Matt Honey.

Taylor and Varcoe had to come from a set down after Connor and Honey were fast out of the blocks, but began to stamp their class in the match and in the end won at a canter, winning, 2-6, 6-4, 6-2.

In the Veterans’ Singles Trophy Final, Ian Wolstencroft showed there is still life in the old dog yet as he overcame John Newbould, winning 6-2, 6-3.

Wolstencroft made it a double sucess when he teamed up with Russell Hosker to win the David Mercer Veterans Doubles after they beat Keith Saunders and David Sudall 6-1, 7-5.

In the Golden Jubilee Trophy Under 21s Singles Final, Matt Honey had a straight forward win over Steven Holt from Burnley, 6-2, 6-3.

The Millennium Trophy Singles Final, for lower division teams, saw Irfan Ulhaq beat Matthew Birch 6-2, 6-3, and the Millennium Trophy - Team Doubles Final saw Liam Taylor and Daniel Moorhouse beat their club mates from Burnley, James Denson and Matthew Crossley, 6-0, 6-0.