Andy Samuels claims seniors title

editorial image
Share this article

Andy Samuels of Burnley won the ELGA Seniors Championship for the third time at Colne.

His gross 73 was 10 in front of runner-up Gary Turner of Towneley - 30 years after father Les won the same comp at Colne with the same gross score!

In the handicap section, Burnley’s Brian Pearson was runner-up and Roger Spence won his age section.

At Burnley, the Veterans’ Trophy was won by Michael Moffitt (81-15-66), the Subsidary Medal went to Ben Pate (71-6-65) and Vishal Tripathi won the Midweek Medal (74-13-61).

The Ladies’ Medal and Breakthrough Brooch went to Lisa Wilson (82-11-71).

At Towneley Golf Club, Steve Wyatt won the prestigious 67 Trophy, beating Ian Frankel in their play-off final.

The Moorehouse Trophy will also be decided on a play-off between Steve Turner (70-5-65) and Neil Jackson (72-7-65).

David Harrison won the midweek stableford with 44 points, and Paul Hurst had his first hole in one at Dean GC.