Goody prevails on the pink in singles final

The final of the Ronnie Laycock Singles competition was played to a finish on Monday at Ighten Leigh Social Club.

Friday, 31st March 2017, 4:22 pm
Updated Saturday, 8th April 2017, 10:17 pm

Andy Goody, -13, of Ighten Leigh, held a 2-1 lead over Jonny Corteen, +30, of Rosegrove Unity from the first leg.

Corteen came out fighting and ran two frames off quickly, and needed only the next to take the title from the experienced Goody, who has won the competition previously.

In the next frame, Goody needed four snookers, and duly got them and took the frame after Corteen missed a yellow over the bag that would have given him the title.

In the decider, Goody prevailed on the pink to take the title in front of another good crowd at Ighten Leigh.

Meanwhile, the second round draws for the Foster’s Golden Cue have been made.

Small table: Carl Revill V Sam Shepherd (Dressers); Darren Cregg v Eric Catlow (St Andrews BC); Graham Howard v Lee Steele (Shorthomers); Jamie Lingard v Paul Averill (Ighten Leigh); Tony Ashworth v Andy Cairns (Ighten Leigh); David Walmesley v Brian Collinge (Clitheroe RBL); Kez Toye v Matt Kayley (Ighten Leigh); Lee Sharples v Jon Cant (St Andrews BC); Wayne Cotterill v Peter Worthington (Paradise WMC); Craig Steele v Ady Harris (Rishton Con); Daniel Meeks v Tony Kelso (Nelson Dressers Club); Lee Graves v Ammi Dippolitto (Briercliffe WMC); Martin Large v Jimmy Waddington (Molly Rigby’s); Peter Doyle v Chris Lawson (Shorthomers WMC); Peter Mercer v Steven Tandy (Colne SC); Tony Greenwood v Dean Walmsley (Worsthorne Social Club).

Large table: Stephen Croft v Dave Howe (Hollins Grove Conservative Club); Alex Brunker v Dan Paton (Chatburn); Ashley Ross v Dom Emery (Colne SC); Chris Ashton v Trevor Sutcliffe (Burnley SC); Farakh Ajaib v John Gibson (Poplar); Jack Dady v Haider Ali (Poplar); Jonothan Clark v Lewis Keen (Oswaldtwistle Con); Paul Clark v Jake Loftus (Chatburn); Steve Ashworth v Mark Salmon (Ighten Leigh); John Lanceley v Tony Arnott (Alexandra); Josh Foster v Rob Barker (Broughton Road); Mark Wilkinson v Simon Blackwell (Ighten Leigh); Martin Eyles v Lewis Ullah (Gargrave); Nik Kershaw v Russel Large (Rosegrove Unity); Paul Selby v John Snape (Rosegrove Unity); Sam Dean v Dean Emmott (Waddington SC).

All matches are best of five frames, and the closing date to complete the ties is Sunday, April 30th. This will be adhered to strictly.