St George's Day gallery: Burnley's post-war England XI

To celebrate St George's Day we've compiled a squad of players that were capped for England while playing for the Clarets.

Thursday, 23rd April 2020, 2:09 pm
Updated Thursday, 23rd April 2020, 2:11 pm
England boss Gareth Southgate

Lining up in a 4-4-1-1 formation we've picked out the cream of the crop of Burnley players to have represented the Three Lions since the 1950s. In total the starting XI collected a total of 35 caps for England over various decades while contracted at Turf Moor. Here's the team...

McDonald played 201 times for the Clarets between 1953 and 1959 and was capped eight times for the Three Lions, including all four matches in the 1958 FIFA World Cup in Sweden.
Burnley was the right back's one and only club during his career. He played 439 times during his stay at Turf Moor and was part of the squad that were crowned champions of England in 1960. He made his only England appearance alongside Brian Miller against Austria.

Sign up to our daily Burnley Express Today newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The Burnley centre back, who has made more than 100 Premier League appearances for the club, made his England debut in a 1-1 draw against Italy at Wembley in 2018.
Keane, who made exactly 100 league appearances for Burnley before his switch to Everton, received his first full international call-up by Gareth Southgate in 2016 as he replaced the injured Glen Johnson.
Miller is a true Burnley legend having played almost 400 times for the club while taking charge of the Clarets over two spells. He played as Burnley were crowned champions of England in 1960 and made his only appearance for his nation against Austria the following year.
The Luton-born winger scored 26 goals in 216 appearances for the Clarets before moving on to Spurs following the club's relegation from the First Division in 1971. He was capped four times for England and was a member of the initial squad for the 1970 World Cup.
Dobson won five England caps, all in 1974, under three managers Sir Alf Ramsey, Don Revie and Joe Mercer for two clubs, Burnley and Everton. He would be the last Burnley player capped by England for 42 years
The midfielder was another member of Burnley's 1959/60 championship-winning squad. He went on to score 69 times in 258 outings for Burnley and he replaced Sir Bobby Charlton on his England debut against Poland in 1966.
The winger scored 67 goals in 300 appearances for the Clarets and scored the opening goal at Manchester City in the 21 win that crowned Burnley as champions. Pilkington's only England cap came when replacing Sir Tom Finney against Northern Ireland in 1954.
Connelly won the First Division title with both Burnley (1959/60) and Manchester United (1964/65). He scored 105 goals in 265 games for the Clarets and went on to be a part of the FIFA World Cup winning squad of 1966, playing in the opening match against Uruguay.
The striker was a goal machine for the Clarets, scoring 118 goals in 223 games for the club. He won three England caps overall whilst at Burnley, scoring two goals for his country, against Luxembourg and Portugal.
Nick Pope (goalkeeper), Tom Heaton (goalkeeper), Jack Cork (midfielder), Billy Elliott (winger).