Young Clarets exit cup after slow start

Share this article

Burnley were knocked out of the U21 Premier League Cup at the first qualifying round stage at Turf Moor on Tuesday night.

And a disappointing night ended with an injury scare for on-loan midfielder Nathaniel Chalobah, who was whisked off in an ambulance to assess a throat problem.

Burnley v Hull City in the Premier League U21 Cup.

Burnley v Hull City in the Premier League U21 Cup.

Development Squad boss Michael Jolley named six first team squad members in a strong line-up, with starts for keeper Alex Cisak, behind Stephen Ward, Kevin Long, Michael Keane and Danny Lafferty, with Chalobah lining up in the centre of midfield.

However, the Clarets were up against it from the off, to one of the quickest goals ever seen at Turf Moor.

From Burnley’s own centre, the ball went back to Keane, whose underhit backpass to Cisak was closed down by Sone Aluko, and the Australian’s clearance cannoned back off the Tigers forward and in.

The goal was clocked at 8.57 seconds - surely one of the quickest goals ever seen at Turf Moor, with Robbie Painter’s effort against Cardiff City in the Fourth Division in 1992 coming in at 16 seconds, the first time Burnley had ever scored in under a minute.

Hull built on that lightening start with some purposeful passing, and might have had a second after quarter of an hour, but although Tom Ince beat Cisak from Aluko’s threaded throughball, the former Blackpool man was off-side.

Moments later it was 2-0, however, as Matthew Dixon broke along the byeline past Lafferty and lifted the ball to the back post for Will Aimson to head home.

It would have been three but for a terrific stop from Cisak, beating away a fierce strike from Harry Maguire.

Ince threatened again before the interval, but he lifted his shot over from Calaum Jahraldo-Martin’s pull back.

Burnley improved after the break, and Cameron Howieson was denied by a fine intervention from Maguire from Jamie Frost’s lofted pass, before Keane headed wide from Steven Hewitt’s corner.

However, there is to be no repeat of last season’s run to the semi-finals.

Burnley: Cisak; Lafferty, Keane, Long, Ward; Howieson, Chalobah (Daly 80), Lowe, Hewitt; Frost (Massanka 80), Gilchrist. Subs: Nizic, Whitmore, Conlan.