Gray is Championship Player of the Year

Share this article

Clarets striker Andre Gray has been named the 2016 Sky Bet Championship Player of the Year at The Football League awards in Manchester.

Gray, who scored his 24th goal of the season to earn a 2-1 win at Birmingham City yesterday, beat off opposition from Brentford midfielder Alan Judge - a January transfer target for Burnley - and Fulham forward Ross McCormack.

Andre Gray

Andre Gray

The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division.

Each Sky Bet Championship manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the votes added up and the overall top three forming the shortlist.

Previous winners include; 2015: Patrick Bamford (Middlesbrough); 2014: Danny Ings (Burnley); 2013: Matej Vydra (Watford); 2012: Rickie Lambert (Southampton); 2011: Adel Taarabt (Queens Park Rangers); 2010: Kevin Nolan (Newcastle United); 2009: Sylvan Ebanks-Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers); 2008: Kevin Phillips (West Bromwich Albion); 2007: Jason Koumas (West Bromwich Albion); 2006: Phil Jagielka (Sheffield United).