Russell ends on high as Lowerhouse celebrate league title success

RETIRING: Jonny Russell
RETIRING: Jonny Russell
Share this article

LOWERHOUSE Cricket Club recently looked back on an historic season - which included a second-ever Lancashire League title - at their presentation night.

Tony Woolworth was MC for the event, which also recognised the retirement of double title-winner Jonny Russell.

Around 90 people were in attendance, including club sponsor Brian Sides from CLA UK.

The junior presentation took place the night before, with 150 present.

First team skipper Charlie Cottam presented the awards, with chairman Stan Heaton as MC.

Senior Awards

Firsts - Lancashire League champions; League record 13 home victories; League record no opposition scoring 200 runs.

Batting: Ben Heap 555 runs at 30.8; Hasan Khan 324 runs at 68.0.

Bowling: Jonathan Finch 56 wickets at 11.4.

Performances: Matt Walker maiden 7-6-1-5 v Colne, Worsley Cup; Fergus Bailey maiden 6-51 v Church.

Jim Ives Progress Trophy: Matt Walker.

Geoff Hope Fielding Award: Henri Wilkes.

Geoff Hope Fielding Award: Jake Turner

Bert Blackburn Newcomer: James Haycock.

Phil Astin Memorial Club Player Of The Year: Ben Heap.

Presented Upon Retirement: Jonny Russell - 1997-2011, 1,574 overs, 207 maidens, 6494 runs, 251 wickets; 81 innings, 39 not out, 42 completed, 170 runs; Championship winner 2005 and 2011.

Seconds - Batting: Jonny Whitehead; Jack Edgar 354 at 25.3 including maiden 65 not out v Colne; Lewis Marsden 353 runs at 22.50.

Bowling: Scott Hope 28 Wickets at 12.4; Certificate: Oliver Bayliff – maiden 51 v Burnley.

Thirds - Batting: Josh Lavin; Declan Bailey.

Bowling: Ismail Khalil; Jack Edgar.

Junior Awards

Under 9s - Batting: Jack Simm 96 runs at 19.1; Thomas Halstead 137 runs at 15.2 including record 35 not out v Longridge.

Bowling: Aman Singh 19 Wickets at 5.00; James Bridge 20 wickets at 5.75 (new record); Aman Singh hat-trick v Longridge, Thomas Halstead hat-trick v Todmorden.

Under 11s Koalas - Batting: Ben Woodall.

Bowling: Sam Kelly.

Under 11s Cubs - Batting: Conor Juriansz; Georgia Clough.

Bowling: Jake Turner 17 wickets at 8.1.

Under 11s Bears - Lancashire Junior League First Division champions - Performances: Ross Birchall 171 runs and 16 wickets at 11.9; Charlie Bithell 91 runs and 15 wickets at 10.9; James Haycock 51 runs; Ethan Laraway 195 runs and 15 wicket; Sulaiman Mehdi 96 runs and hat-trick v Todmorden; Josh Waddington 68 runs and 10 wickets; Harry Wheatcroft 200 runs; Joseph Halstead 213 runs (new record) and 18 wickets at 11.9 (new record).

Under 11s - South Shore 16-team 6-a-Side winners - Joseph Halstead 118 runs.

Under 13s Jaguars - Bowling: Danny Simm 16 wickets at 10.9.

Batting: Danny Simm 5-5 v Haslingden.

Under 13s Cougars - Batting: Declan Stansfield; Bowling: Tom Bridge.

Under 13s Tigers - Batting: Hannah Till 100 runs; Matthew Anderson 100 runs.

Bowling: Matthew Anderson.

Under 13s Lions - Kean Craig 10 wickets; Jake Seddon 121 runs and 11 wickets; Batting: Joey Stein 161 runs.

Bowling: Alex Claridge-Ingham 14 wickets at 9.3 (new record).

Under 13s Full Joint Champions - Adam Stubbs (captain) 102 runs.

Batting: Tom Nicholas 185 runs.

Bowling: Adam Stubbs.

Under 15s Dolphins - Matthew Locke 143 runs including maiden 50 not out v Burnley; Will Norcross 106 runs.

Batting: Ben Gorton 451 runs at 56.3 including five 50s (new record).

Bowling: Harry Green; James Ridehalgh (5-17 v Colne).

Under 15s Sharks - First Division runners-up - Joe Gray 110 runs; Danny Turner 109 runs.

Batting: Jack Edgar 285 runs at 57.00.

Bowling: Jack Edgar; Joe Gray.

Under 17s - First Division runners-up - Josh Lavin 108 runs including maiden 50 not out v Burnley; Rhys Woodworth 105 Runs Including maiden 52 not out v Burnley.

Batting: Jonny Whitehead 290 Runs at 58.0 (new record).

Bowling: Rhys Woodworth; Ismail Khalil.