Read win again '“ but are deposed at top of table

Read won again on Saturday, but lost their leadership of the C.B.S. Office Supplies Ribblesdale Senior League in the process.
Andrew RushtonAndrew Rushton
Andrew Rushton

Kyle O’Connor’s men beat league newcomers Feniscowles by four wickets to make it four wins from their opening four league games – but champions Clitheroe and Whalley followed suit, as Read’s failure to bowl out their opponents saw them deposed.

O’Connor won the toss and put the hosts in at the War Memorial Ground, but openers Jack Ellison (24) and Jake Errey put on 60 for the first wicket, before the former became Andrew Rushton’s first of three victims.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Errey went on to anchor the innings, sharing 36 with Benjamin Fleming (13), 31 with Stuart Heather (2) and 36 with Joshua Murfet (22) before finishing unbeaten on exactly 100 off 120 balls, as Feniscowles closed on 183-7.

Rushton took 3-43 and Warren Eastham 2-53.

In reply, Read got over the line with four balls and four wickets to spare, with contributions from O’Connor (32), Joe Marshall (29) and Ben Gorton (42 not out), as Jacques Snyman took 5-45.

Padiham, meanwhile, lost both their weekend games.

On Saturday, they went down by 43 runs at Great Harwood in the league, before exiting the Ramsbottom Cup by eight wickets to Clitheroe.

At The Cliffe, Harwood won the toss and chose to bat, making 219-4, thanks to Patrick Swanney’s 106 not out, Mahsooq Ahmed (26) and Paul Houldsworth (46 not out).

Kevin Hitchon and Brannon Varley both took two wickets.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

In reply, Padiham closed on 176-8, denying Harwood the bonus points, thanks to Phil Haggerty (35), Callum Clarke (38), Varley (22), Hitchon (24 not out) and Toby Burrows (18).

The following day, Padiham were all out for 61 against Clitheroe – of which Varley made 35 – before Clitheroe knocked off the runs inside 11 overs.

Related topics: