Read climb to third after beating rivals

Run maker: Read's Joe Marshall hit 78 on the back of his 112 last week
Run maker: Read's Joe Marshall hit 78 on the back of his 112 last week

Read’s Joe Marshall was among the weekend’s outstanding performers in the Ribblesdale Cricket League with rivals Padiham feeling the brunt of his batting brilliance in the derby at the Arbories.

After smashing 112 in Read’s 158-run victory over Brinscall at Whalley Road previously, Marshall paved the way to glory once more as he fired 78 in his side’s total of 216.

All that was despite Kevin Hitchon taking 7-42 for Padiham.

Callum Clarke’s men were then put to the sword as the hosts fell 111 runs short

The triumph saw Read climb to third - at the expense of Whalley who lost to Oswaldtwistle Immanuel - where they sit behind Earby and champions Clitheroe.

Paul Gaskell’s league leaders maintained their 100 per cent start to the 2014 term as they thrashed rivals Ribblesdale Wanderers by seven wickets in the derby at Chatburn Road.

After the visitors set a total of 89-8, with professional Janaka Guneratne scooping figures of 6-34, a rain interruption saw Clitheroe chasing a revised target of 83, which they did with ease.

Meanwhile, Whalley slipped up for the first time this season with after having a 91-run loss inflicted upon them.

Phil Howard hammered 10 boundaries in a knock of 67 from 77 deliveries in a 106-run stand for the opening wicket alongside Oliver Jones (23) for Ossie.

That took the game away from the home side who never threatened their opponent’s innings of 185-7.

Instead a combination of Andreas Sudnik and Andrew Metcalf inflicted misery on Whalley as they plummeted 9-4, with David Howard (15), Richard Palmer (33) and Simon Gorton (19 not out) helping Richard Lamb’s men to a slightly more respectable score.

Elsewhere in the Senior Division, Salesbury lost in an agonising finale at Ribchester Road with their total just nine runs shy of Cherry Tree’s revised 165-run total.

While Earby’s trip to Barnoldswick at Victory Park was abandoned; Edenfield, Brinscall and Great Harwood won their respective fixtures against Brooksbottom, Euxton and Baxenden by seven wickets.