Padiham name South African all-rounder as professional

New Padiham professional Darryl Losper
New Padiham professional Darryl Losper

Padiham Cricket Club have signed South African Rural batsman Darryl Losper as professional for the 2014 Ribblesdale League season.

Losper, 21, is a South African all-rounder playing for Easterns in the Boland Premier League.

Earlier this year, the right-hand batsman was selected for the Boland Rural side, scoring a highest score of 119 on debut, and his exploits culminated with South African Rural XI selection.

And if his prior UK league performances were anything to go by, he’ll certainly prove a useful acquisition.

During his maiden stint in 2012 for Derbyshire League club Cromford Meadows, he smashed 539 runs at 59.89, including two hundreds and a highest score of 152 not out.

The right arm medium fast bowler also weighed in with 28 wickets at 13.07 in the 11 matches he played before returning home in mid-July.

Losper is quite a talent, who is eager to impress for Padiham and continue his push towards first-class honours.

Padiham chairman Keith Clayton said in a statement: “Padiham Cricket Club are delighted to bring in such an exciting cricketer in Darryl, who has proven UK cricketing abilities having starred in the Derbyshire Cricket League in 2012, and is currently playing in the Boland Premier League back home in South Africa.

“He is a fully qualified coach who will be delivering junior training throughout the season to the junior academy teams, along with private one on one sessions.

“We look forward to an exciting campaign.”

In November, Padiham earned a relegation reprieve after the Ribblesdale Cricket League voted on a new make-up for the Senior Division at their AGM.

The Arbories side finished bottom of the Senior Division last season, and were in danger of being relegated to the First Division, along with Cherry Tree.

But under new proposals, both clubs will stay in the Senior Division - albeit in Division B of a new two-tier system.

For the forthcoming season and subsequent years, the Senior League will be divided into two divisions, with promotion and relegation between Division A and B.

Champions Clitheroe, Barnoldswick, Settle, Read, Oswaldtwistle Immanuel, Baxenden, Ribblesdale Wanderers, Whalley, Great Harwood - will make up Division A, and Brooksbottom, Edenfield, Salesbury, Earby, Euxton, Cherry Tree and Padiham Division B.