James Anderson up for top award

“Burnley Express” James Anderson has been named on the six-man shortlist for the 2013 ICC Cricketer of the Year award.
Nomination: James AndersonNomination: James Anderson
Nomination: James Anderson

He is joined on the list by England captain Alastair Cook, South Africa’s Hashim Amla, Australian skipper Michael Clarke, Mahendra Singh Dhoni of India and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara.

Sangakkara won both the Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year awards - which are decided by votes from a panel of former players, members of the media and an elite umpire - in 2012.

This year’s winner will be announced on December 14th.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Anderson is also in the ICC Test and one-day teams of the year.

The ICC Test team of the year (in batting order) is: Alastair Cook (Eng, capt), Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), James Anderson (Eng) Vernon Philander (SA). 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind).

The ICC one-day team of the year, again, in batting order, is: Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (Sri), AB de Villiers (SA), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind, capt and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pkn), Mitchell Starc (Aus), James Anderson (Eng), Lasith Malinga (Sri) 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ).

Overnight, Anderson took 1-56 off 21 overs as Australia closed on 273-5 on day one of the second Ashes Test in Adelaide.

He claimed an excellent catch off his own bowling to remove Shane Watson for 51, with three of his last five Test wickets now caught and bowled.