Former Burnley cricket skipper returns to the Turf

editorial image
Share this article

BURNLEY Cricket Club held its annual presentation evening in a packed club house with former captain Jonathan Harvey handing out the awards.

Michael Brown, Club chairman, extended his thanks to all those involved in the organisation and running of the club: members, players, coaches, groundsman, supporters, tea ladies, bar staff, committee members, and volunteers

The continued support and commitment of so many individuals is invaluable to the club and is greatly appreciated.

The night also celebrated the many successes of several junior teams which included league and cup successes for the Under 9s, Under 11s A and Under 15s, and a number of county and district selections.

Roll of honour:

Under 9s A - Champions; Batting: Kai Moreland; Bowling: James Swift; Most Improved: Harry Tomlinson.

Under 9s B - Batting: Michael Barker; Bowling: Annabelle Uttley; Most Improved: Sam Hancock.

Under 11s A - Champions; Batting: Adam Khan; Bowling: Adam Khan; Manager’s Award: Max Dawson.

Under 11s B - Batting: Ramisha Fatima; Bowling: Adeel Hassan; Manager’s Award: Hannah Farrah; Most Improved: Mason Heys.

Under 13s 11-a-side - Batting: Tom Lawson; Bowling: Adam Khan; Manager’s Award: Marley Byrne.

Under 13s pairs - Batting: Hannah Farrah; Bowling: Lewis Taylor; Manager’s Award: Samiya Rahman.

Under 15s - Cup winners; Batting: Tom Lawson; Bowling: Matthew Thornton; Manager’s Award: Ben Sutcliffe.

Under 17s - Batting: Matt Lamb; Bowling: Cole Hayman; Manager’s Award: Matt Tomlinson.

Special Recognition Awards - Lancashire CCC representatives: Samiya Rahman; Tom Lawson; Qasim Shah; Cole Hayman.

Lancashire Festival representatives: Matt Lamb; Ali Syed; Matt Tomlinson.

First XI - Player of the Year: Qasim Ali; Batting: Qasim Ali; Bowling: Bharat Tripathi; Young Player of the Year: Cole Hayman; Captain’s Award: Chris Burton; The Roger Law Memorial Award: Graham Lalor; Duck Award: Cole Hayman.

Second XI - Batting: Josh Whitehead; Bowling: Nas Iqbal.

Third XI - Batting: Ali Syed; Bowling: Dean Metcalfe; The Joe Fletcher Award, Most Improved Player: Ali Syed; The Joe Fletcher Award, One to Watch: Matt Tomlinson; The Albert Birtwell Trophy, Best Performance by U18: Matt Lamb v Accrington.

The Peter Lawson Award: Phil Broadhurst.

Lifetime Membership Awards: Wendy Harvey, Alan Shorrock.