Captain Marshalls his Read side to four-wicket win

Read were four-wicket winners at Baxenden in the Ribblesdale Cricket League on Saturday.

Tuesday, 31st May 2016, 5:00 pm
Read batsman Joe Marshall
Read batsman Joe Marshall

The wickets were spread around as the visitors restrcited Baxenden to 177-7 batting first at Back Lane.

Jack Wood took 2-33 and professional Ravi Jangid 2-43, one of the paid man’s victims being Kurt Smithson trapped in front as he top scored with 57.

In reply, Gary Sudworth’s 4-47 couldn’t deny Read a victory that saw them bounce back from their first league defeat to Barnoldswick.

Captain Joe Marshall top scored with 45, a knock that included four fours and two sixes.

Jack Jones ended the day unbeaten on 36 while Jangid made 28 and Kyle O’Connor 25.

Read finished on 180-6 in the 40th over.

Elsewhere, Padiham went down to a 45-run defeat at the hands of champions Clitheroe.

The visitors posted 211-7 batting first with Nathan Whitehead the pick of the Padiham bowlers, taking 3-47, including the wicket of Jack Dewhurst who top scored with 67.

Brannon Varley also chipped in with 2-36 while professional Brady Barends had to settle for 1-65. 
In reply captain Kurt Robinson was the star man for Padiham, ending the day unbeaten on 67 not out in an innings that included seven fours and five sizes.

He simply ran our of partners however, Phil Haggerty (36), Varley (27) and Whitehead (10) the only other players to reach double figures as the hosts were bowled out for just 166.