Burnley celebrate fantastic season at presentation

editorial image
Share this article

Burnley Cricket Club held its annual presentation evening in a packed clubhouse with new professional Chris Holt handing out the awards.

The first team’s Worsley Cup win was the highlight of the season, but several senior and junior successes were recognised.

In addition, the evening saw Qasim Ali, receiving deserved recognition for finishing as the top amateur run scorer in the Lancashire League.

The club also marked the retirement of Andy Lamb from senior cricket. Andy was thanked for his immense contribution to life at Burnley, on and off the pitch.

Chairman Michael Brown extended his thanks to all those involved in the organisation and running of the club, whose continued support and commitment is invaluable and greatly appreciated.

Award winners were as follows: Juniors: Under 9s A - Batting and Bowling: Zaeem Shah; Manager’s Award: Oscar Cunliffe.

Under 9s B - Batting: Matthew Dutton; Bowling: Hasnain Shah; Manager’s Award: Ella Harrison.

Under 11s A - Batting: Qasim Shah; Bowling: Jaffer Mohammed; Manager’s Award: Kai Moreland.

Under 11s B - Batting: Rehan Zore; Bowling: Rayhan Zamen; Manager’s Award: Jude Mercer.

Under 13s 8 a side - Batting: Kai Moreland; Bowling: Bryce Johnstone; Manager’s Award: Harry Parkinson; Joint League winners.

Under 13s 11-a-side - Batting: Qasim Shah; Bowling: Adam Khan; Manager’s Award: Lewis Lorenzo.

Under 15s - Batting: Kashif Mahmood; Bowling: Dean Metcalf; Manager’s Award: Ethan Carter. League Cup winners.

Under 17s - Batting: Matt Lamb; Bowling: Ali Syed jnr; Manager’s Award: Matt Tomlinson; League Winners 2013.

Lancashire CCC Representatives - Qasim Shah U11s; Tom Lawson U14s; Hannah Till Ladies’ 1sts; Lancashire U16s Festival Representative - Matthew Thornton.

Seniors: First XI - Player of the Year: Chris Burton; Batting: Qasim Ali; Bowling: Bharat Tripathi; Young Player of the Year: Cole Hayman; Captain’s Award: Dan Pickup; Roger Law Memorial Award: Josh Whitehead; Duck Award: Dan Pickup; Fan of the Year: Dave Pounder.

Second XI - Batting: Matt Lamb; Bowling: Jonny O’Brien; Peter Stansfield Award: Josh Whitehead.

Third XI - Batting: Matt Tomlinson; Bowling: Matthew Thornton; Joe Fletcher Award, Most Improved Player: Dean Metcalf; Joe Fletcher Award, One to Watch: Tom Lawson; Albert Birtwell Trophy, Best Performance by an U18: Matt Lamb.

Chairman’s Awards - The Peter Lawson Award: Fiona Hadfield; Special Recognition Award: Andy Lamb; Lancashire League Batting Award: Qasim Ali.