UPDATE: Burnley election results are in

Burnley’s local election results are in with a strong showing from the Labour Party which gained two seats and held a further seven.

The 2014 borough council elections saw Council Leader Julie Cooper’s party bolster their town hall majority with 28 seats.

Ballot box

Ballot box

The Liberal Democrats ceded two seats in the Queensgate and Lanehead wards to Labour and now have 12 seats.

Burnley’s Conservative Party still has five seats after veteran Coun. David Heginbotham held off a challenge from UK Independence Party candidate Tom Commis to retain his hold on the Cliviger with Worsthorne ward.

A full list of Burnley Council Election 2014 results is as follows:

Bank Hall: Gareth Frayling (Lab) 925; Brian Tomlinson (Lib) 379.

Briercliffe: Roger Frost (Lib) 682; Ian Metcalf (UKIP) 410; Brian Cooper (Lab) 277; Susan Nutter (Con) 110.

Brunshaw: Tony Harrison (Lab) 621; Jamie McGowan (UKIP) 500; Susan Fenn (Lib) 231; Gavin Hartley (TUS) 29.

Cliviger with Worsthorne: David Heginbotham (Con) 524; Tom Commis (UKIP) 415; Paula Riley (Lib) 411; Christine Sollis (Lab) 297.

Coalclough with Deerplay: Gordon Birtwistle (Lib) 923; Daniel Fleming (Lab) 421.

Daneshouse with Stoneyholme: Shah Hussain (Lab) 1,421; Rupali Begum (Lib) 671.

Gannow: Neil Mottershead (Lib) 728; Howard Hudson (Lab) 532; John Rowe (BNP) 149; Philip Nutter (Con) 113.

Gawthorpe: Frank Cant (Lab) 739; Tom Watson (Con) 241; John Mitchell (Lib) 193.

Hapton with Park: Jean Cunningham (Lab) 728; Sandra Byrne (Lib) 529.

Lanehead: Trish Ellis (Lab) 893; Gordon Lishman (Lib) 636.

Queensgate: Sue Graham (Lab) 908; Tom Wilkinson (Lib) 437.

Rosegrove with Lowerhouse: Bea Foster (Lab) 723; Barbara Kirker (Lib) 335; Christopher Vanns (BNP) 297.

Rosehill with Burnley Wood: Jeff Sumner (Lib) 970; Michael Rushton (Lab) 541.

Trinity: Howard Baker (Lab) 518; Paul Harrison (Lib) 287; David Baynes (TUS) 119.

Whittlefield with Ightenhill: Tom Porter (Lib) 593; Christohper Rawson (UKIP) 494; Charles Baker (Lab) 379; Robert Frost (Con) 263.

See Tuesday’s Burnley Express for in-depth coverage and analysis on the local elections.