Time to enter National Lottery Awards: VIDEO

The National Lottery Awards are an annual search to find the UK’s favourite Lottery-funded projects. Lottery players raise £30m. a week for projects across the UK.

The awards are a great way to highlight how that funding has changed the UK for the better.

Now in their ninth year, the awards recognise the difference Lottery-funded projects have made to people, places and communities across the UK. They also celebrate the talent, hard work and dedication of the people involved in running them.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Since The National Lottery began in 1994, over 370,000 grants have been given out across the arts, sport, heritage, charities, health, education and the environment.

The awards have seven categories, reflecting the different types of projects that benefit from Lottery funding. The categories are:

• Best Arts Project

• Best Education Project, in association with Best magazine

• Best Environment Project

• Best Health Project, in association with iVillage.co.uk

• Best Heritage Project

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

• Best Sport Project

• Best Voluntary/Charity Project

An independent organisation will review all the entries and draw up a long list. An independent judging panel will shortlist 10 projects in each category to go through to the semi-final round of public voting.

The three projects in each category with the most votes progress to the final round of public voting.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The project with the most votes in each category will be declared the winner. Voting in both rounds is independently monitored and adjudicated by Electoral Reform Services.

All the finalists in each of the seven categories will be invited to a star-studded awards event to be broadcast on BBC One, where the results will be revealed. In addition to the Lottery funding they have already been awarded, the winners will each receive a £2,000 cash prize to spend on their project.

To find out about applying for funding visit www.lotteryfunding.org.uk or call 0845 275 0000.