Burnley Council Elections 2021: All the candidates looking for your vote on May 6th

Labour will be hoping to regain overall control of a hung Burnley Council in next month's borough elections.
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Burnley voters will head to the polls on Thursday, May 6th, with a seat in each of the 15 wards up for election.

The Labour Party currently holds 22 seats on the council, with the 23 other seats taken up by the Lib Dems (eight seats), Conservatives (six), the Burnley and Padiham Independent Party (six), the Greens (two) and one independent.

Read More
How Burnley's polling stations will be made Covid-safe - and what the alternativ...
Labour currently holds the most seats on Burnley Council with 22.Labour currently holds the most seats on Burnley Council with 22.
Labour currently holds the most seats on Burnley Council with 22.
Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Labour's Mark Townsend was appointed leader of the council in October following the collapse of a coalition involving the Tories, Lib Dems, Greens and the Burnley and Padiham Independent Party.

Below is the list of candidates standing in this year's elections:

Bank Hall Ward

Julie Hurt (Green), Lubna Khan (Lab), Maison McGowan-Doe (Con)


Victoria Alker (Green), Shelagh Limmer (Labour), Margaret Lishman (Lib Dem), Mike Steel (Con)


Claire Ingham (Con), Lian Pate (Lab), Andy Wight (Green).

Cliviger with Worsthorne

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Scott Cunliffe (Green), Pippa Lishman (Lib Dem), Carol Lukey (Lab), Andrew Newhouse (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party), Richard Sagar (Con), Steven Smith (National Front).

Coal Clough with Deerplay

Jimmy Anderson (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party), Bill Horrocks (Lab), Jaqueline Inckle (Lib Dem), Arash Sedigh (Green Party), Linda Whittaker (Con).

Daneshouse with Stoneyholme

Saeed Chaudhary (Lab), Mohammed Hajji-Nazrul (Lib Dem), Janet Hall (Green), Tom Watson (Con).


Darren Broughton (Con), Mark Payne (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party), Jai Redman (Green), Lesley Sumner (Lib Dem), Fiona Wild (Lab).


Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Joseph Davis (Green), Karen Ingham (Con), Kate Proctor (Lab).

Hapton with Park

Alan Hosker (Con), Alun Lewis (Lab), Duncan Reed (Green).


Mark Alker (Green), Jamie McGowan (Con), Asif Raja (Lab).


Helen Bridges (Green), Arif Khan (Lab), Alfie White (Con).

Rosegrove with Lowerhouse

Dave Alexander (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party), Joanne Broughton (Con), Jane Davis (Green), Marcus Johnstone (Lab), Michael Taylor (Lib Dem).

Rosehill with Burnley Wood

Margaret Brindle (Lab), Phil Chamberlain (Con), Tony Davis (Green), Peter McCann (Lib Dem).


Stephanie Forrest (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party), Martyn Hurt (Green), Tony Martin (Lab), Susan Nutter (Con).

Whittlefield with Ightenhill

Mitchell Cryer (Social Democratic Party), Kathryn Haworth Lib Dem), Nicola Sedgwick (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party), Emma Simpkin (Green), Shaun Sproule (Lab), Don Whittaker (Con).

Related topics: