Battle lines are drawn in bid for Burnley Council seats

Labour will be looking to strengthen its grip on Burnley Council when voters go to the polls next month.

Monday, 9th April 2018, 1:16 pm
Updated Monday, 9th April 2018, 1:21 pm
Burnley Town Hall

The full list of candidates has now been announced with one seat in each of the 15 wards up for grabs on Thursday, May 3rd.

Labour currently hold 27 seats with Independents (seven), Lib Dem (six), Conservatives (four) and UKIP (one), making up the rest of the council.

This election will also mark the end of the political road for one of Burnley’s most prominent town hall figures.

Coun. Roger Frost. the town's Mayor in 2005, has represented Briercliffe for the Liberal Democrats since 1991 but has this year decided not to stand for re-election.

The candidates who will be standing in the Burnley borough elections are:

Bank Hall

Afrasiab Anwar (Lab), Martyn Hunt (Green), Diane Sunter (Con).


Sarah Hall (Green), David Heginbotham (Con), Alun Lewis (Lab), Gordon Lishman (Lib Dem), James Mellor (Burnley and Pendle Independent Party).


Paul Campbell (Lab), Janet Hall (Green), Steven Smith (Independent), Ellen Sunter (Con).

Cliviger with Worsthorne

Ceri Carmichael (Green), Andy Devanney (Lab), Ivor Emo (Con).

Coalclough with Deerplay

Gordon Birtwistle (Lib Dem), Bill Horrocks (Lab), Tom Watson (Con), Anne Whittles (Green).

Danehouse with Stoneyholme

Alex Hall (Green), Shah Hussain (Lab), Neil Kennedy (Lib Dem), Sheldon Slater (Con).


Kathryn Haworth (Lib Dem), Neil Mottershead (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party), Jai Redman (Green), Christine Sollis (Lab), Don Whittaker (Con).


Frank Cant (Lab), Phillip Clarke (Con), Lenny Johnson (UKIP), Clare Long-Summers (Green), Brendan Morris (Burnley and Padiham Independent Party).

Hapton with Park

Dave Alexander (Burnley and Pendle Independent Party), Sandra Byrne (Lib Dem), Tom Commis (UKIP), Jean Cunningham (Lab), Stephen Murphy (Green), Ben Page (Con).


Crissie Harter (Green), Shbana Khan (Lab), Pippa Lishman (Lib Dem), Narayana Picton (Con).


Nigel Baldwin (Green), Sue Graham (Labour), Naweed Manzur (Lib Dem), Susan Nutter (Con).

Rosegrove with Lowerhouse

Barbara Baldwin (Green), Ernest Calderbank (UKIP), Bea Foster (Lab), Lorraine Mehanna (Burnley and Pendle Independent Party), Matthew Nuttal (Con).

Rosehill with Burnley Wood

Gail Barton (Lab), Phil Chamberlain (Con), Georgina Ormrod (Green), Jeff Sumner (Lib Dem).


Howard Baker (Lab), Andy Fewings (Green), Michael Paterson (Con), Jan Weaver (Burnley and Pendle Independent Party)

Whittlefield with Ightenhill

Grace Donovan (Lab), Dale Ferrier (Con), Laura Fisk (Green), Peter Gill (UKIP), Ray Hogan (UK Veterans’ and People’s Party), Peter McCann (Lib Dem), Emma Payne (Burnley and Pendle Independent Party).