PHOTOS: East Lancashire Newspapers’ Education Awards 2013

Talented youngsters from across the area were honoured at East Lancashire Newspapers’ second Education Awards on Tuesday.

Thursday, 20th June 2013, 4:14 pm
Winners at the Education Awards.

Sponsors Burnley College hosted the special evening which showcased top individuals, teams and schools. And there was also awards for the Unsung hero and Inspirational Teacher.

In his welcome speech Burnley College Principal Mr Hugh Bramwell praised the area’s pupils for their achievements which continue to grow every year.

There were joint winners of the title of Secondary School of the Year with the accolade being shared by St Augustine’s RC High School, Billington, and Marsden Heights Community College. Both schools were praised for their dedication to pupils and for their commitment to a series of arts projects. Unity College, Burnley, was also commended for its amazing improvements in GCSE results.

Winners at the Education Awards.

The Sports Achievement Award went to Blessed Trinity Year 10 football team which became the first Burnley school to win the prestigious English Schools FA Cup. They also beat Sir John Thursby 11-1 in the Keighley Cup final at Turf Moor. Other nominees were Nathaniel Lowe-Cordingley from Park High School and Nathan Hawthorne from SS John Fisher and Thomas More Catholic College.

The title of Primary School of the Year went to St Mary’s CE Primary School, Newchurch, which was awarded top marks in its recent Ofsted inspection. Also nominated were Barrowford Primary School and Roughlee Primary School.

Nathaniel Lowe-Cordingley of Park High School was announced as Secondary School Pupil of the Year. He has overcome cerebal palsy to show great determination to live a normal school life. Other nominees were Chris Smalley of Bowland High School and Anna Welsh of SS John Fisher and Thomas More Catholic College.

Winner of the Educational Tours Award was Brunshaw Primary School which offered pupils more than 50 trips during the year to places such as Towneley Park, a mosque, Blackpool Zoo and Lancaster Castle. Also commended were Ribblesdale High School and St Joseph’s Park Hill, Burnley.

There were three winners of the Unsung hero Award, such was the calibre of entrants.

Frank Taylor of Bowland High School was honoured for his outstanding work behind the scenes on a multitude of projects; Brandon Johnson pf Fisher More College was the second winner. Brandon overcame challenging personal circumstances and was described as “the first person to step forward to help others”. Third winner was Mrs Wendy Read of the School Chaplaincy team who “demonstrates 100% commitment in all areas of her work”.

The Inspirational Teacher Award was presented to Danny Breen of Bowland High School who was described as an inspirational teacher for his devotion to high-quality teaching. Commendations went to Mark Archer of St Mary’s CE Primary School, Newchurch, and Mrs Somerfield of Park High School.

St Mary’s also picked up the Health and Wellbeing Award where pupils are given a clear understanding of their responsibility to “look after God’s World” and to “learn to love and love to learn”. Runner-up was Barrowford Primary School.

Waddington CE Primary School picked up the Sustainable School Award. The Green Flag eco school was the first primary school in Clitheroe to be awarded Fairtrade School status. Other finalists were Bradley Primary School, Nelson and Holy Trinity Primary School, Brierfield.

Rounding off the evening, Mr Chris Daggett, group editor of East Lancashire Newspapers, praised all the entrants. He said: “There have been many, many changes in eduction in recent years and many more to come in the future. But the dedication and quality of pupils, schools, teachers and volunteers in our area means we can hold our heads high. Standards are constantly improving and long may this continue.”

He also paid tribute to the superb facilities on offer at Burnley College which he said were among the best in the country.

Entertainment on the evening was provided by Burnley College’s Hayley Watson-Reid and Jordan and Jake.

View more pictures from the awards evening at: