Burnley Council election latest: BNP lose Hapton

Breaking News
Breaking News
Share this article

THERE have been defeats for the Liberal-Democrats and the BNP as the results from Burnley Council elections start to come in thick and fast.

The Lib Dems’ Margaret Lishman has managed to keep her seat in Briercliffe and the next Mayor of Burnley will be Lib-Dem Charlie Bullas on an otherwise miserable day for the party

Labour have taken three more seats in Hapton, Bank Hall and Daneshouse & Stoneyholme, seeing a further body blow to the BNP locally who has been in control in Hapton. The BNP have averaged just 145 votes in the four wards called so far in the election.

The Conservatives have kep keep two seats in Whittlefield and Cliviger