Battle lines drawn for General Election

House of Commons
House of Commons
Share this article

Five candidates will battle it out at the polls to decide who will become Burnley’s next MP.

The countdown is on to the General Election on May 7th when the country will decide who it wants in power.

Current Burnley MP, Liberal Democrat Gordon Birtwistle, will stand to defend his seat from labour challenger Julie Cooper, the Conservatives’ Sarah Cockburn-Price, Tom Commis of the UK Independence Party and Mike Hargreaves representing the Green Party.

There will be no British National Party candidate standing in Burnley this year.

The polls suggest it will be a tight two-horse race between Mr Birtwistle and Mrs Cooper, both serving Burnley councillors.

Tory Sarah Cockburn-Price, who lives in Colne, is a Pendle councillor.

Tom Commis, originally from Todmorden, led UKIP in the local elections in Burnley when its candidates finished second in a number of wards but failed to gain a seat on Burnley Council.

The Green Party candidate Mike Hargreaves works as a mental health nurse and is the former singer with the punk band Notsensibles.