The Burnley Express, together with local historian Roger Frost and Burnley Civic Trust, have collaborated to bring you this remarkable set of photographs from Burnley’s industrial past.
With everything from the culvert to the canal, this is a fascinating collection of photographs for anyone interested in our history.
The canal at Elm Street in 1958. Cameron and Livingstone Mills can be seen, right, with railway waggons, carrying coal to Burnley gas works, in the foreground.
Another image showing Livingstone Mill with a number of broad barges which were used on the Leeds and Liverpool Canal.
Daneshouse, Throstle and Old Hall Mills from the canal bank. Originally the buildings were all cotton mills, but, when decline set in, the Lucas company took possession of the largest of them.
The upper part of the Burnley Embankment, one of the Seven Wonders of the Waterways. To the left is the Hill Top and Scar Top area of town. To the right, a number of wide barges line up above the Culvert.