Nominate local NHS staff who have gone beyond the call of duty

NHS staff who have gone above and beyond the call of duty can now be nominated for a special Parliamentary award.

The NHS Parliamentary Awards, sponsored by Fujifilm UK offer a chance to celebrate NHS staff, carers and volunteers for all the hard work they do to look after loved ones when they are at their most vulnerable.

The National Health Service has just celebrated the anniversary of its foundation after the most challenging time in its 72-year history.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Coronavirus has been a global health emergency on a scale not seen for a century. The NHS, which first opened its doors at Trafford Park Hospital on July 5th 1948, responded swiftly and flexibly to deal with the pandemic but staff – present, past and future – have had to come together as never before, supported by volunteers and the public.

Burnley General Hospital

So many staff have worked incredibly hard in their unwavering efforts to put patients first and this is something that the awards aim to reward.

The Government is now searching for outstanding nominees for 2020 who have innovated, impressed and made a real difference to how the health and care system provides care for patients.

Pendle MP Andrew Stephenson said: “There is little doubt that the NHS is the nation’s most loved institution and there can be no doubt its staff make it what it is today.

“When I hear from our local health services, I am incredibly proud of the examples of fantastic care that have made a genuine difference and touched the lives of local people in Pendle.

"It’s absolutely right that we celebrate the work staff put into the NHS and want to hear from you about any outstanding care you have received in the last year so I can nominate our local heroes for these awards.”

There are ten categories, including a Lifetime Achievement and Rising Star award to honour those who have devoted their life or career to making the NHS better or are just at the start of their journey of supporting our NHS but have already made significant contributions.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

All those who are shortlisted for excellence will be invited to an award ceremony in Parliament next year to celebrate their fantastic achievements.

Since the awards began in 2018 over 450 Members of Parliament nominated an individual or organisation for an award. Last year, the NHS received over 500 nominations from MPs.

Mr Stephenson is calling for potential nominations in the following categories:

The Excellence in Healthcare

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Excellence in Mental Health Care Award

The Excellence in Urgent and Emergency Care Award

The Excellence in Primary Care Award

NHS Rising Star

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Future NHS Award

The Health Equalities Award

The Care and Compassion Award

The Wellbeing at Work Award

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Lifetime Achievement Award.

For more information on how to nominate and the criteria for each category, visit