This Annie-inspired Pendle school musical is a joyous celebration of diversity and togetherness

The cast of musical, Tomorrow, produced by the Pendle Education Trust.
The cast of musical, Tomorrow, produced by the Pendle Education Trust.

There were smiles on faces all round as children from all over the world joined forces for a feel-good adaptation of a Broadway show.

Youngsters aged nine to 15 from the five Pendle Education Trust academies celebrated the popular Annie musical with a version entitled, Tomorrow, at Colne Primet Academy.

They danced and sang their way across the stage enthusiastically, putting on a huge show with lovely harmonies.

Starring were pupils hailing from Eastern Europe, Asia, the Middle East and the UK, attending Primet, West Craven High School, and Castercliff, Casterton and Pendle Primary Academies.

The show follows orphan Annie as she escapes a children’s home ran by the cruel Miss Hannigan.

The 1977 original ran for nearly six years, setting a record. Despite this success, the Pendle cast showed no signs of nerves.

Jessica Austin was a great choice as Annie and delivered a strong performance in a fabulous American accent.

Victoria Whiteside took to the stage as Miss Hannigan, showcasing stellar vocals.

Saood Mian was a likeable Mr Warbucks, the billionaire who takes Annie in. He confidently stepped into the shoes of movie star Albert Finney, who played Warbucks in the 1982 film.

Overall, this was a vibrant show and all the pupils must be applauded: Leah Millward, Evan Baranauskas-Tankard, Julia Szlama, Ashleigh Feather, Kasie Thompson, Violet Howarth, Faith Henstock, Jake Ford, Jade Tye, Harley Smith, Sheldon Strachan, Kai Keefe, Alfie Foster, Codie Stacey, Leo Shepherd, Jake Pollard, Matthew Lewis, Oliver Gedling, Gabriel Adams-Nottingham, Thomas Goodship, Hind Al Hadji, Nicole Bond, Molly Bleakley, Jake Ford, Wiktoria Kozlowicz, Jessie Shepherd, Sullivan McConaghie, Emily Gott, Charlie Brown, Ashleigh Nizinkiewicz, Teagan Anderson, Kira Royle, Kasie Sharpe, Aqueelah Shah, Erys Gaul, Elizabeth Montgomery, Matthew Walker, Jessie Shepherd, Christina Bendea, Emiljia Ramasauskaite, Charley Farrow-Jenkins, Keziah Reid, Emily Smith, Abby Fawcett, Harmony Wedge, Victoria Whiteside, Zara Ahmed, Aisha Khan, Hind Al Haji, Faith Hargreaves, Charlotte Robinson, Emily-Jayne Austin, Amabel Foster-Bond, Abbie Kendall, Jacob Miller, Joel Patrick, Faith Vernon, Amileah Afzal, Arzoo Hussain, Jessica Miller, Kathryn Greenwood, Kasie Sharpe, Aqueelah Shah, Nicole Bond, Jake Ford, Wiktoria Kozlowicz, Leah Millward, Tia-Lee Stansfield, Denisa Cristea, Olivia Matusiak, Evie-Leigh Austin, Leah Nelson, Phoebe Fort, Mahnoor Akhtar, Daniel Ogden, Sienna Wolfenden, Lilly Mai Turnbull, Molly Searman, Madeeha Aslam, Daisy Ratcliffe, Amelia McCloskey, Natasha Rani, Yumna Zafar, Kalisha-Mae Greenwood, Maryam Noor, Kainaat Jamil, Zaibaa Shahid, Maham Zara, Khadija Abbas, Hana Khan, Farhan Hayat, Muhammad Ali, Shahir Akhtar, Noor Fatima, Humaira Javed, Abdullah Ali, Declan Allen, Kevin Bilotas, Logan Chenier, Amelia Coward, Krystal Frear, Laima Geringsonaite, Alexi Gough, Ollie Hadwin, Rebecca Hila, Ieva Jarosiunaunaite, Paige Jeffery, Harris Khan, Simas Kolesovas, Arnas Kondrotas, Max Kostecki, Emma Lakatos, Oskar Lewandowski, Alicia Lewis-Knight, Taylor Miller, Blaize Monaghan, Aneeqa Muzamil, Haider Raja, Kajus Rusas, Eva Shawm Mason Shaw, Jordan Sim, Joshua Wyer, Rabia Yasin and Sandra Zaleska.