Towneley Golf Club celebrate milestone

editorial image

Towneley Golf Club hosted a golf competition to celebrate the 80th anniversary of the golf course, with the Mayor on hand to present the prizes.

The winner of the handicap section was Nelson member David Drinkwater with a score of net 64.

Second was Towneley member and team organiser David Walmsley with a score of net 67.

The ladies’ competition was won by Towneley lady member Sue Miller with a score of net 68.

Second place went to the ladies’ secretary Pat Steel with a score of net 73, while Melissa Freeman was third after cards, also with a 73.

The non-golf club members’ category was won by Darren Whitaker with a score of 82, ahead of Ashley Brown with a score of 90.

Thanks go to Towneley Golf Club members and club professional James Major for sponsoring all the holes and making it a day to remember.

The winners of the club’s midweek Stableford competitions were Roy Catlow, with 44 points - winning by one point from Mick Bradshaw, and Gary Turner with 41 points, winning on a card play-off from Andrew Slater.

These competitions were followed by the HN Alderson Trophy at the weekend.

Yet again it was competition and handicap chairman Turner who won with 67-3-64, on the card from John Warren (77-13-64) and Danny Turner (79-15-64).

It was ladies’ day on Sunday at the club, with the winner of the competition being Barbara Scott (81-15-66).

Second was Sue Miller (105-35-70), ahead of Melissa Freeman (94-22-72).