St Andrew’s win decider to claim Ken Musk Trophy

editorial image

In a repeat of last year’s final, St Andrew’s beat Lowerhouse to win the Ken Musk Trophy, with the final going to the last game.

St Andrew’s, who received 20 points on aggregate, claimed first blood with P. Wilkinson winning comfortably 21-7.

Back came Lowerhouse, with R. Cook winning 21-8.

The next two games saw I. Beecroft of Lowerhouse win 21-15, and J. Lord of St Andrew’s win 21-17.

B. Smith then won 21-15 for Lowerhouse and P. Harrison 21-19 for St Andrew’s.

With four games to go, St Andrew’s lead was cut to 15 points, and the next two saw D. Ashworth win 21-16 and F. Roberts win 21-15 for Lowerhouse to reduce the lead to four points.

In a very close game, M. Ashworth of Lowerhouse came from behind to beat A. Walsh 21-20, so with the aggregate score now down to three points, it was all on the last game, and J. Averil came out winner for St Andrew’s beating T. Cullen 21-15.