Burnley unveil new chairman and captains at club’s annual meeting

editorial image

Burnley RUFC recently held their AGM and senior awards.

Paddy Murphy took over from Chris Egan as club chairman, and Paul Mullaband was elected first XV captain.

Phil Thornton and Sam Atkins will look after the second XV, and Jason Bell will skipper the thirds.

After the AGM, the senior players’ awards were held.

Gus Ferguson was awarded the President’s tie.

Most improved player was Sean Ward, and first XV leading try scorers were Nino Angelone and Matt Crowley.

Player of the year was Richard Murray, and players’ player James Henderson

Leading try scorer for the second team was Paul Mullaband, and player of the year was Mark Jackson.

The Ian Cunningham Memorial third XV player of the year was Anthony Clarke, and clubman of the year Sam Atkins.

Tonight sees a leaving party for Richard Murray as he returns to his native New Zealand, with all welcome.

Senior training continues Mondays and Thursdays from 7 p.m., and Saturdays from 10-15 a.m. at the club.

Touch rugby for beginners or those wishing just to keep fit continues Tuesdays at 7 p.m.

E-mail caldervale78@hotmail.com for more details.