Lancashire County Council elections - Burnley more results in

Ballot box
Ballot box

Labour has taken seats from the Lib Dems and the BNP in the first returns from yesterday’s Lancashire County Council elections.

Terry Burns took the Burnley North East seat and Marcus Johnston the Padiham and Burnley West seat previously held by the BNP’s Sharon Wilkinson who did not stand for re-election.

Misfar Hassan (Labour) held onto his seat in Burnley Central East.

Margaret Brindle (LibDem) kept her seat in Burnley Rural as did fellow LibDem Jeff Sumner in Burnley South West. Labour candidate Tony Martin took the county council seat in Burnley Central West, narrowly beating LibDem Neil Mottershead by just seven votes.