Iconic mill’s changing face

Artist's impression of former Lambert Howarth site
Artist's impression of former Lambert Howarth site

Demolition work has begun on Burnley’s iconic Lambert Howarth mill to make way for an exciting development of canalside town houses.

Developer Birmingham-based St Modwen was granted planning permission in 2014 to redevelop the historic site in Finsley Gate.

The former Lambert Howarth building in Finsley Gate being demolished

The former Lambert Howarth building in Finsley Gate being demolished

The original Finsley Gate Mill, which dates back to 1820, was part of a wharf and boatyard that opened in 1801 and quickly became the home of the main maintenance yard along the canal and a vital hub of industry and employment.

The proposals also include a new public square and the possibility of a restaurant.

It is anticipated that the scheme will act as a catalyst for the regeneration of the wider area, bringing forward further housing on the adjacent canalside, where Healey Royd Mill was situated, and complementing the proposed use of Mile Wharf.

The development is expected to create 250 new jobs and significant future investment in the area.

Steven Knowles, development director at St Modwen, said: “Work has commenced on-site at Finsley Gate Mill with the removal of the mill extension and the retention and restoration of the original mill and landmark chimney for future residential and commercial use.”

St Modwen bought Finsley Gate Mill and Healey Royd Mill from shoe-maker Lambert Howarth in 2007.

It was granted outline planning permission for a £20m. mixed-use development on the site, including 168 homes, offices, industrial space, a hotel, and leisure and community hubs, in 2011.