Council Election Battle Lines Are Drawn Up

THREE of the borough's political group leaders are among those fighting to keep their places on Burnley Borough Council in the local elections next month.

Council leader Coun. Stuart Caddy, Liberal Democrat leader Coun. Gordon Birtwistle and Independent group leader Coun. Paula Riley are all defending their seats as are members of the decision-making Executive, Couns Peter Kenyon and Colette Bailey.

There are 17 seats up for grabs and when nominations closed on Monday 55 candidates had thrown their hats in the ring.

Initially there were to be 15 seats up for election, one in each of the borough wards, but in the past few weeks, Maureen Stowe, who was an independent councillor in Brunshaw, and Caroline Cavanagh, who represented Labour in Bank Hall, have resigned from the council.

And those standing down at the polls are Rafique Malik (Daneshouse with Stoneyholme), Pat Bennett (Bank Hall), Mick Rushton (Gannow), Carole Galbraith (Trinity) and Barry Birks (Whittlefield with Ightenhill).

Liberal Democrat Peter McCann is moving wards from Hapton with Park to Lanehead.

Both Labour and the Liberal Democrats are fielding a candidate for each seat with the Conservatives fielding 13 and the British National Party putting up six. There is one independent candidate.

The vote will take place on Thursday, May 4th.

The local election in 2004 left the borough with a hung council, which means that no political party has overall control.

The nominations (* denotes sitting councillor) are:

Bank Hall – Justin Birtwistle (Lib-Dem), Paul Coates (Con), Gary Frayling (Lab), Allen Harris (Lib-Dem), Imtiaz Hussain (Lab).

Brunshaw – Tony Coulson (Con), Donald Hall* (Lab), John Jones (Lib-Dem), Anthony Locke (BNP), James McNulty (Lib-Dem), Mike Nelson (Lab).

Briercliffe – Roger Frost* (Lib-Dem), Maureen Martin (Lab), Cosima Towneley (Con).

Cliviger with Worsthorne – David Heginbotham* (Con), Derek James (Lib-Dem), Brenda Lambert (Lab).

Coal Clough with Deerplay – Gordon Birtwistle* (Lib-Dem), Marcus Johnstone (Lab).

Daneshouse with Stoneyholme – Uzair Ahmed (Lab), Tahir Nawaz (Lib-Dem).

Gannow – Arthur Coates (Con), Derek Dawson (BNP), Mary McCann (Lib-Dem), Alexander McLachlan (Lab).

Gawthorpe – Scott Atkinson (BNP), Frank Cant* (Lab), Denise Embra (Lib-Dem), James Shoesmith (Con).

Hapton with Park – John Harbour (Lab), Alan Marsden (Con), Christine Puckett-Gouldin (Lib-Dem), David Thomson (BNP).

Lanehead – Joanne Day (Con), Laurence Embley (Lab), Peter McCann (Lib-Dem), Paula Riley* (Ind).

Queensgate – Peter Kenyon* (Lab), Darren Reynolds (Lib-Dem), Barry Robinson (Con).

Rosegrove with Lowerhouse – Stuart Caddy* (Lab), Bernard Hill (Lib-Dem), Elaine Kirby (BNP), Ian Pool (Con).

Rosehill with Burnley Wood – Colette Bailey* (Lab), Jeff Sumner (Lib-Dem), David Tierney (Con).

Trinity – John Baker (Lab), Michael Baker (Lib-Dem), John Cave (BNP), George Middleton (Con).

Whittlefield with Ightenhill – Angela Donovan (Lab), Jonathan Gilbert (Con), Carol Holden (Lib-Dem), David Shapcott (BNP).